Montane Spine Race 2024

The freezing freekin’ fun one!

Edale – Hebden

The forecast was for a cold spell, increasingly so throughout the week. On the Sunday temperatures barely above 0 in valleys, -6 on the tops. With this in mind and being predominantly on higher ground, I decided to start in warm layers. A mistake, I was far too hot and hadn’t the room in my bag to take off multiple layers and add them to my bag already brimming with extras!

It was a glorious leg, clear skies, views for miles, hard ground, frozen bogs, low river crossings, a few slippy slabs but to be fair they’re always slippy, plenty of good company.

The route was also teaming with Spine race enthusiasts, Olivia, an old club mate, stands at the top of Jacob’s ladder and prompts me to look back at the sun casting a gorgeous light over the Edale valley , Ian from CWU gives me a cheery greeting, Eleanor from Ourea events team is running the fell race, we pass each other near Torside, amongst many others! It’s buzzing and I’m buzzing, relieved to finally get underway and excited for the journey ahead.

I arrive at the CP in good time. My only annoyance is I’ve already got two blisters to sort out. I tuck into a huge bowl of pasta then rice pudding, recharge my watch, head torch, a quick chat and amazing hug from Michael (who in no uncertain terms tells me to look after myself) and off I go into the night.

Hebden – Hawes

I keep up a reasonable effort but struggle to breathe as the cold air hits my chest. By Ponden, I’ve realised the continued freezing temperatures are going to have a detrimental effect on my race as I’m forced to contain my pace and adjust my goals.

John and Sally have set up a mini support point for the runners and unfortunately this coincides with probably one of only two dark points in the race. The language spilling from my mouth should probably not be repeated! Their little ‘seance’ table cheered me up and it then wasn’t far to Lothersdale…as John described a medium hill then a small lump!

Quick stop there to enjoy a a veggie sausage and mushroom sandwich served by the phenomenal Robyn…with a lovely message sent from Trish! Off alone, I spot the red lights of two runners ahead and keep them in reach. Eventually I catch them up, it’s Eoin and Rory, moving at a similar pace and they ask if I’d like to join their merry group. I ran into Patterdale with Eoin in the Northern Traverse and I’m buoyed by their happy banter. There’s a fairly constant chatter and even better they sing songs. Rory is trying to teach Eoin the lyrics to ‘Sunshine on Leith’ and this becomes the theme tune for the race!

It was good to have 3 torches finding stiles and gates across the rock solid fields. It’s increasingly cold through night and I keep my face covered with my buff but still find it difficult to go at any effort.

By Malham the sky is starting to lighten and we are treated to a spectacular deep orange sunrise. The steps up to Malham rocks feel stupidly hard, as all sorts of wheezes and noises emanate from my chest. I pick up the pace along the tarn to the mini CP by then really starting to feel the cold. There, I don all of my layers and have a hot meal, fill my flask with hot sweet coffee which in no time turns into a Frappuccino (-16 on the tops). Again I struggle to climb up to Fountains Fell and again up to Pen y Ghent. It’s frustrating but by now I’ve resolved to absorb myself in the pure enjoyment of the journey. I’m blessed with the ability to complete the task in hand but also by good company and stunning views the likes of which are rarely enjoyed mid winter along the Pennine way. We soon start to play catch with Marco, his bright red jacket a good target!

Rory and I are getting used to being in the shadow of the Spine legend, Eoin, as passers-by stop to take photos, trying their best to exclude us from them, it’s an ongoing joke until the finish.

The river we pass over before the little stretch to Cam high road is nearly frozen, just a trickle managing to pass through. The wind picks up towards CHR but thankfully comes from behind us on the road and I feel a little stronger so push on ahead to reach Hawes in daylight. A treat of delicious chewy flapjack is provided by a random supporter who has a box brimming full to offer to everyone passing.

Hawes-Langdon Beck

I attempt to sleep for 90mins but spend most of it coughing and wheezing. I have a quick chat to the medic to see if anything can be done to help with breathing…unfortunately not. I ask if oral steroids would help but I’m told that if I had these then I would have to be pulled from the race. I wait for the boys but feel like I’m wasting time so head out alone. I’m quite apprehensive as I’ve spent the last few hours coughing and wheezing in the check point, unable to sleep. I know the temps are set to drop further and I’m heading straight up Great Shunner Fell which will be colder still. I control my effort and keep my face covered, I’ve found my fleecy buff which helps warm the air more. I do really enjoy the climb, following someone’s distant red light. It’s like I’m watching a computer game, the red light jumping up and down on the black computer screen. I’m frustrated as I’ve forgotten the climbs after Great Shunner Fell, the crazy dot ahead moving higher than me, I curse and curse.

The traverse to Keld is awkward across the mossy rocks which appear like sheep to my addled brain. It’s then a clear run to Tan hill only hampered by stretches of ice. I stop for a mug pasta and 20min shut eye. I wake refreshed and happily leave with Rory and Eoin who have arrived as I snooze. We are treated to the best traverse across frozen Sleightholme and make good progress to Clove lodge. The barn looks so inviting with all the offerings for Spine runners but I’ve no ready cash available for the goodies.

We complain about the initial dullness of the morning but soon the sun rises as a gorgeous red fireball on the horizon. We reach Middleton ahead of my previous time but still have 8m to Langdon Beck check point. The River Tees is partially frozen and there are huge ice balls floating beneath the waterfalls. It starts to snow, beautiful flurries transforming the landscape. We stupidly revel in the stunning wintry views not thinking how this will effect the higher ground up and over Cross fell.

Langdon Beck – Alston

It’s odd the sense of peace I feel as I enter County Durham, happy to be on home turf. I’m greeted by club mate Aaron at the CP. It’s lovely and cosy with a fire roaring. I tuck into a delicious curry then have 1hr sleep before we head out into the night.

We’re diverted around Cauldron Snout which we’re relieved by but then the snow starts to increase, the wind picks up, it’s difficult to see much with the strobe effect and I’m continually wiping accumulated snow off my goggles. There are deep snow drifts and intermittent foot prints to follow. It takes a while just to reach Cauldron Snout on the actual road, and the usually straightforward section to High Cup Nick, with snow masking the normal gradients is far trickier than normal. There are previous runners footprints quite literally going round and round in circles, it looks like they’ve had a lovely dance. On reaching the peeping stones the sky clears, and thankfully it’s a dark starry night with a crescent moon.

We’re stopped at Dufton to wait for the storm to pass although it’s far too late as we’ve already battled our way through it! I hang up clothes to dry on the radiators and lie down to try to get some sleep. We’re stopped for 90mins before being released at 11pm.

On up Cross fell as now a 4 with Nicky joining us. Eoin expertly picks his way across the tops, disguised by snow and ice occasionally he finds slab edges. It’s a great relief to have company as it’s my least favourite section. At Greg’s Hut we enjoy our hot chocolate, noodles and respite before the long descent into Garrigill, now as a group of 5 as Scott joins us. It’s quite pleasant as the stones are now covered in a cushioning layer of snow.

Garrigill feels colder than the tops, the roads are treacherous. Nicky takes a fall and it’s a harsh warning to all of us to tread carefully. It’s a frustrating trudge into Alston with the start of many stiles, so many f***ing stiles.

Alston – Bellingham

I love Alston CP, it’s got a homely feel. We agree on taking 1hr sleep and I wake up with Nicky’s alarm, I’m a little bewildered and confused, she says I give her a death stare on waking! By now I have no idea what day we are on. Night time consists of 1hr sleep then breakfast and off again into a new ‘day’. I enjoy scrambled egg and ketchup on toast, it might actually be breakfast time! I’m very jealous of Rory’s aero press and the smell of fresh coffee.

We leave as a 4 across the solid riveted fields. There’s lots of chatter, laughter and singing. I repeatedly think what a wonderful adventure this is turning out to be!

I get too hot then take layers off only to freeze in any shade so soon put them all on again. My right wrist starts to hurt using the poles so I stop then my hand starts to swell and it’s soon apparent I will have to stow them away for the rest of the race.

Rasta Ralph greets us with air fried chicken drumsticks, the others tuck in…I’m vegetarian. He kindly offers to cook up a veggie alternative. I get cold as we chat and am pleased to get moving again although the next section across Blenkinsh*t common is amongst my least favourite. Despite freezing conditions it’s still boggy. Too busy enjoying the company, I haven’t fuelled well and by Greenhead am really cold. I stop in the warm toilets to put ALL of my layers on and Nicky tells me to eat lots to try to warm up.

I feel like it’s a long slog from the wall to Horneystead Farm. I’m really struggling. I wonder if Nicky is commenting behind about my staggering gait. I gaze at the humps of grass and dream of their comfort for a sleep, I don’t realise that everyone else is finding it hard. As soon as I recognise the way I’m pushing ahead to the farm to try to warm up. We’re greeted by Helen and beautiful soup. I’m chilled and very tired. I hide in the barn in a big sleeping bag next to a gas fire I half wonder will set me alight. Thankfully, I do find sleep and on waking feel more human. I head out with Nicky, scared I will get cold waiting for the boys. We make a good team and reach Bellingham just before daybreak. We agree on 1hr sleep before the final push across the Cheviots. We share a tent in the hall, it’s surprisingly cosy and I fall into a deep slumber.

Bellingham – Kirk Yetholm

Nicky and I are both desperate to finish on Thursday evening, not wanting to make our partners wait longer than already promised…the boys don’t think there’s a chance, so we leave separately. It’s a beautiful crisp, clear day. It’s nice to have busier trails and to pick off Challenger North runners.

We have a lovely 30mins stop at Byrness and tuck into mince and mash, proper coffee and Irn Bru.

After a slow ascent onto the Cheviots, to keep food down, we pick up the pace and take turns to lead. The hills are glowing pink, it’s an extraordinary place to be. I spot what I think is an owl sitting on a sign post only to near it and realise it’s the top of said sign post! Not long afterwards Nicky declares excitedly that she’s definitely not hallucinating and points me towards the Cheviot goats gathered near the path, their impressive curved horns beautifully touched by the sun’s rays.

We are chasing the setting sun to Hut 1, but are forced to stop 10mins earlier to get our head torches on. Then on to Hut 2 and the long tedious trudge up to the Schill…the penultimate big hill (we all know the hill on the road is huge!)

Finally we’re off the fells, onto little trods, meandering round sheets of ice and then there’s the tunnocks van and I’m far too excited only to hit a new level of disappointment when I realise just how far we still have to go….its only a parkrun but it feels like an eternity.

I’m shocked I’m not hallucinating nor tired. I’ve been merrily eating Nicky’s chocolate covered coffee beans since twilight. I remember the trees that I’d last seen as giant dogs with wagging tails. I feel like I’ve beaten the sleep demons this time. I have to give Nicky a nudge every now and again to keep her awake. Finally the bastard tarmac hill and then the lights from distant buildings, and as if by magic the pink arch appears and the fairy lights surrounding the pub. We touch the wall together, hug and are welcomed by our husbands (and my middle daughter, son and dog!)

I went back because I wanted to have a better race, to manage myself and my sleep, to improve my time. I wanted to feel like I hadn’t dragged myself over the finish line. To enjoy the sunsets and sunrises. To smile more. I love the spine bubble, the support you receive along the way, the equally obsessed friends I’ve made. Where little else matters apart from moving forward, eating, drinking and occasionally sleeping.

It wasn’t what I’d planned. I was the fittest I’ve been, kit was perfected…years in the making! However early on I had to adjust my goals and effort just to stay in the race. Above everything, last year’s disappointment showed me that a week of dot watching was eternal torture. I didn’t want to jeopardise a finish. In the end it was a far easier, far more enjoyable journey.

It was actually a dream adventure. I’ve loved it. The views, the snow, the support, the songs, chatter, giggles, group wees, shared goal. I’d never be able to recreate the joy I felt for an inordinate amount of time on this race. I’d never, ever have imagined the pure joy of running the spine race, never believed that something so testing could deliver on such fun. It’s been an amazing holiday. It’s been absolutely priceless and I would say wholly down to my wonderful group that I was so lucky to team up with.

So, in the words of the proclaimers (and Eoin and Rory!) ‘Thank You, Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!

There’s still an itch though,

And it needs to be scratched…

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started